Friday, 10 July 2015

Off The Beaten Tracks 10 July

Four tracks on this week's show feature the fiddle playing of Shetlander Kevin Henderson. In 2002 he replaced Aly Bain in Boys of the Lough, the Scottish/Irish folk group which was formed in the late 1960s. The original line-up included Bain and guitarist/singer Dick Gaughan. The Boys have released over 20 albums with the latest one titled 'The New Line' being released on the 24th of July. So along with two tracks from that cd there is one from Kevin's solo album 'Fin Da Laand Ageen' and one from The Nordic Fiddlers Bloc's self-titled 2011 album. 

Dick Gaughan is currently on tour, he plays in Shipley on July 12th, Worcester on the 17th and the Stainsby Festival in Chesterfield which runs from the 17th - 19th July.

Listen to the show at

The Oran Project - Morocco
Boys of the Lough - Da Smugglers
Anna Laube - Sugarcane
The Foghorn Stringband - What Will We do
Steve Earle - Yours Forever Blue
Kevin Henderson - Sandy Ower Da Lea
The Nordic Fiddlers Bloc - Jenna Reid of Quarff
Red Molly - Willow Tree
Kimmie Rhodes - Southern Accents
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - Stories We Could Tell
Peatbog Faeries - Angus and Joyce MacKay
Boys of the Lough - The Boston Burgler
Dick Gaughan - Geronimo's Cadillac
Spiers & Boden - Brown Adam
Ollie King - Santa Fe Trail